Weekly Workouts

I like exercise. I don’t love exercise.

Maybe I burnt myself out from when I didn’t have a heathy perspective on exercise or maybe it’s just not my favorite activity. Lets go with the second one.

I’m kind of an all or nothing person. Either I exercise 5-6 times a week or I don’t at all has been my attitude lately. Clearly, it’s time for a change.

Holidays are awesome, but they can also be hard. Especially when you are a schedule-crazed freak, don’t handle stress well, and people are always shoving food down your throat. I was talking to a mentor about it and she really helped me correct my all or nothing thinking. I don’t need or have to exercise 6 times a week. I don’t need and shouldn’t beat myself up about missing a workout.

However, to take care of my body, I do need to give it some exercise (even if hanging out and creating healthy food in the kitchen sounds much more fun). So we made a schedule (because I live by and LOVE them) for me this holiday season [and after].

3 days a week, 3 visits to the gym. That’s it. I don’t need to go more. At first all I wanted to say was, “but that’s not enough!” but deep down I knew that it was.

I think I have this image in my head that since I try to maintain a healthy lifestyle, I need to have toned calves, trimmed arms, and a 6-pack.

False. To maintain a healthy lifestyle I need a little exercise but most importantly I need to enjoy life and concentrate doing what I love. Remember how short this life is? So I’ve decided, no more crazy 6 workouts a week goal…no more beating myself up for missing a workout…no more thinking I need to be built like a runner…no more. I’ll never have crazy muscles, run 5 minute miles, or be the envy at the gym. Nope, I’ll be going to the gym 3 times a week (Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday) and enjoying my life.

Also, I am not just exercising for myself, I am doing it for my body. God gave me this body to take care of and if I want to be a healthy wife and mom someday, I need to take care of this body. Not overdoing it, just getting enough physical exercise to stay healthy.

So far, this plan has worked out (no pun intended 🙂 perfectly. I no longer dread going to the gym! I have my little schedule and now I  don’t feel like it is such a chore but just a part of maintaining a healthy lifestyle, not a crazy obsessive lifestyle.

via

What is your take on weekly workouts?

I’m not saying that exercising 5 times a week is bad, it’s just not for everyone. However sometimes people get the idea they have to [exercise 5 times] in order to abide by the standards our culture has set for exercise. You need to figure out what works for you, make some adjustments along the way, and stick to it! Make it fun, not depressing and upsetting. Just do what you enjoy, a couple of times a weeks and you will be good. 🙂 

4 thoughts on “Weekly Workouts

  1. Nicole, I just found your blog and I can relate to this post so so so much. You see, I’ll admit that I too have an all or nothing mentality. I’ll either study really hard for a test or not at all. I’ll either be super super busy or doing nothing at all. And just like you, I either workout six days a week or not at all. But you see, in the past week I’ve come to the same realization you have. I don’t have to workout 6 days a week to be healthy. And I don’t think it’s practical either. I’m a full time student and I think I need to just accept that I’m not going to have an 8 pack or run a 5 minute mile. But, I think that it’s so great that you’ve decided to workout just three days a week. That’s sort of what I’m doing now. Only working out about 4-5 days a week for 20-30 minutes..and I feel so so much better. You will too. I love having more time to socialize and do more of the things I love.

    Sorry for such a long comment! Have a great weekend!

    • Thank you so much for your long comment, Anna! It made my night 🙂 I’m so glad you could relate, and I think once we all figure out what works best for our bodies and mind, we can enjoy life much more! I’m already seeing much more positive results in my attitude and social life, yet I still feel healthy and happy. Good luck on the end of your semester, Merry Christmas!

  2. Nicole, I just stumbled across your blog after visiting Jessica at How Sweet and I can totally relate to what you’re going through. I struggled with over-exercise my freshman year and last Fall I was benched from doing any sort of activity… for my health. Yes, that’s right, even 20 minute walks were a stretch that the doctor’s were skeptical about giving me the option of doing. Now, over a year later, I finally recognize that taking time off was the best thing for me. By being absent from working out, I was able to step back and really understand the benefits to exercise and that it should be enjoyed for balance and establishing a healthy lifestyle (neither of which I had before). More importantly, I saw this period not as a punishment, but as a period of rest. As young women in school, we are constantly going from one thing to the next, rarely taking a time for relaxation and rest. For me, last Fall was a rest. And it was wonderful. I also noticed that not working out for quite a long period of time didn’t do damage to my body, as my mind had told me it would. Understanding and overcoming that obstacle is something I STILL remember almost daily. Skipping a workout or even taking an entire week off is not only beneficial, but almost NECESSARY sometimes. And no matter what, that rest – which should be viewed as a very good thing – will not damage your body, but will make you all the more beautiful.

    Remember, God loves you and views you as complete perfection. He created you… He knitted you together, inch by inch, every little piece of you.

    Much love,
    Katie @ http://www.ohshineon.com

    • I could not have put it more perfectly, Katie. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and share your thoughts and wisdom! I am so happy to hear you are doing better with balance. I cannot tell you how much this new workout plan has been the perfect fit for me…just another step to achieving a healthy balanced life! I’m very excited to have these tools and knowlege to use for college, since I have wasted a lot of time worrying and restricting in high school. 🙂 Thanks for reading, I really enjoy your comments!

Leave a Reply

