Summer 2012 Reading List

So it’s the summer before my freshman year of college and suddenly I feel very unprepared! College is so different from high school and although I know the first few months will be slightly awkward, stressful, and confusing,  I want to go in with a little preparation.

Therefore, my summer reading list is unlike a normal one. It consists of seven books many of what you could call, “self-help” books. I know the Bible is the one and only needed “self-help” book and I will still be reading that too, but I do want to get some different advice and opinions on concurring topics.

1. Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis

2 Every Young Women’s Battle by Shannon Ethridge & Stephen Arterburn

3. Boundaries by Dr. Henry Cloud & Dr. John Townsend

4. Life Inside the Thin Cage by Constance Rhodes

5. Foundations in Personal Finance (college edition) by Dave Ramsey

6. Crazy Love by Francis Chan

7. Happiness is a Lifestyle by Frank Minirth

You may be thinking that’s not many books…and it’s not. Normal fiction books I can finish in no time, but books like these take me longer because 1. I sometimes procrastinate starting them and 2. When I read them, I take my time so that I absorb the material better. I am hopping to throw in a few fictional books along the way. 🙂

What are you reading this summer?

Leave a Reply

