Gone with the Week

So far this summer has been really great. I love my job (nannying for two little boys), I’ve been able to catch up on sleep, get coffee with friends, and refresh my inner introvert. Although I wish to be in Italy almost daily, I am thankful for a happy summer.

20140703-203035-73835343.jpg

 

Speaking of beautiful Italy, I finally got around to making a 20 page shutterfly book of my journey in bella Italia. I think I’ve looked through it 10 times already…and I’m already craving gelato.

20140703-202821-73701938.jpg

 

I also love that I have been able to read FOR FUN this summer. During the school year, I can never justify reading a “fun” book because I know if I’m reading anything it should be my textbooks. (Although, it’s not like I ever end up reading all of them anyways…) On a recent road trip I read The Fault in our Stars by John Green. My employer gave it to me, so I was eager to read it. I am glad I read it, but to be honest it’s just not my kind of book. I did admire many of the cancer patients and I thought the twist on “cancer perks” was interesting.  It’s one of those books that makes you evaluate why I complain about small body issues when my body is healthy and cancer free.

 

20140703-202819-73699222.jpg

 

I won this running water bottle/wallet contraption at a workout class last night and was really excited! I’m not typically a person who wins prizes so it was kind of fun. 🙂 Although to be honest, I’m not exactly sure how it works…do I put it on my wrist? or a belt? Suggestions welcome!

20140703-202426-73466760.jpg

I just got back Monday night from my sister and brother-in-laws place in Georgia. My BIL graduated from officers training and received his infantry blue cord. We are so proud of him, he’s worked so hard! He is currently waiting to receive his date for ranger school- which we are all anxious to find out when that is. He has definitely been at the top of my prayer list.

I love visiting these two and always have a blast! We did a lot of bike riding, had a grill out, ate ice cream, and went to a fourth of July fair.

20140703-202420-73460969.jpg

The fair had THE MOST AMAZING FIREWORKS I have ever seen. It was one of the neatest things I have witnessed (we were so close!) and I never wanted it to end. I will always have a love for fireworks. 🙂

Happy 4th of July! We are having some friends over and grilling out/swimming and enjoy the Texas heat. How about you?

Thank you in advance for the brave men and women who have made America a land of the free. God bless!

Leave a Reply

