Morning People

Today was very interesting because I slept in till 10:00! Ever since college (but especially since the past two semesters), I have learned that I am most definitely a morning person. I don’t typically jump out of bed and celebrate being awake, however; once I am out of bed, I’m up and at ’em. I worked till 10:30 last night and haven’t been sleeping the best, so I think my body wanted to sleep when my alarm went off (so I let it). Some benefits I’ve noticed from being a morning person are:

1. Productivity: My mornings/afternoons are way more productive then my evenings. Evenings equal chocolate and Call the Midwife or a good book (and in bed by 11:00). Mornings equal work, errands, and exercise.

2. Exercise: Nowadays, if I don’t work out in the morning, my motivation level goes down from there. I am in LOVE with exercise classes this summer (yoga, pilates, and zumba) and have been going to them on the mornings I don’t have work. In fact, I don’t even really use the gym part of the community center anymore…I go to the exercise room for class and then leave. I don’t know what I am going to do when I go back to school!

3. Excuse for drinking caffeine: I like to think that because I wake up early, my body deserves caffeine. When really, I just love drinking tea in the morning because I feel older or fancy or something (or coffee at work because my employer has Italian Sweet Cream creamer and I love it). 😉 So yes, this really doesn’t deserve to be a valid point but I like to think it is.

4. Better sleep: I have definitely started noticing that when I wake up early, I sleep a lot better then next night. Often on Saturdays when I would sleep in till 10 or 11, I would feel tired the whole day yet not be able to sleep that night.

And ultimately, I think since I am really enjoying this summer’s combination of productivity and relaxation it really helps me get out of bed happy in the morning.

___________________

Anyways, so I was going to get out of bed for a cardio class but as we all know, I slept in. Instead I had a breakfast of Waldorf Salad, a Mojo bar and green tea.

20140715-170408-61448617.jpg

 

If you haven’t tried these yet, you are missing out. They definitely should be more of a “treat” granola bar, however; I sometimes eat them at breakfast cause they are so yummy!

Then I went out to try and look for an inexpensive, but classic dress for two wedding rehearsals I am going to in the next two months. It has sort of hit me lately that in 3 semesters I will be teaching in the classroom full time and my wardrobe does not scream “cute, confident, classic teacher” at all. Ever since I have gained some weight, a lot of my dresses don’t fit and lets be honest, most of my clothes are from Targets junior section. So my new goal when looking for an outfit is seeing if I could wear it when teaching and also to look my age.

Needless to say, I did not find a dress today, but there is always another time. I’m not a huge fan of sleeveless dresses (I like a little sleeve to cover my upper arms) so that made it a bit challenging. Maybe I should look online before I go to the store next time!

I cam home and had some lunch and also random eats.

20140715-170416-61456030.jpg

 

My dad got us hooked on Nutri-Bullets and hopefully we won’t be stopping anytime soon because they are GOOD. Today’s smoothie had kale, flaxseed, a banana, and frozen blueberries and strawberries. (Consumed while I watched and episode of What not to Wear.)

 

20140715-170426-61466624.jpg

 

For mid-day munchies I had a bowl of cherries and a dark chocolate oat cluster.

Tonight I am planning to go to Zumba later and plan tomorrows activities with my kiddos! Although, I don’t know how we are going to beat last weeks waterpark adventure.

20140712-191848-69528349.jpg

 

Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

