Basil Pesto Recipe

In celebration/mourning of my last day of winter break, I made a big bowl of pesto pasta. My mom and I cannot get enough of it and thanks to our growing basil plant, we can often indulge our pasta cravings. This recipe is adapted from one in Italy but I changed some ingredients (different nuts and cheese) and portions. This pasta is extremely satisfying and I would argue, the best healthy “comfort” meal ever.

Also, I miss Italy a little more with each bite I take.

IMG_7646

 

IMG_7647

 

IMG_7648

IMG_7651

 

IMG_7653

 

IMG_7825

Italian Basil Pesto

2 packed cups of fresh basil leaves

3 gloves of garlic

1/2 cup fresh parmesan cheese

1/4 cup walnuts

1/3 cup olive oil

ground pepper to taste

Instructions: Combine all the ingredients in a food processor and grind to a thick liquid.

Immediately pour over 12 ounces cooked noodles and serve hot.  (I prefer to use rotini or fartelle (“bow tie”) noodles with this pesto, but any noodle type will work well.)  

You can easily half the recipe or use more or less noodles, considering how “pesto-y” you prefer your pasta.

Leave a Reply

