Gone with the Week

It is currently sleeting outside and the entire college is hoping for cancelled classes tomorrow! I am already planning a day of baking, reading, napping, and maybe homework.

IMG_8024

The roommate and I already made smore’s bars (again) in celebration. This is how you pack on the freshman 15 people. (Or junior 15 in this case.)

Currently Reading:

This week I read Alaskan Twilight and Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (book one of the series). Believe it or not, I have never read or watched the Harry Potter series. I was advised as a future teacher of literacy to at least read book one in the series to have a concept of the writing. I give the book 4/5 stars. I actually really enjoyed it and did not find it as dark as I previously thought. I haven’t decided if I will continue to read the next books in the series, but I will say I liked the first one.

Alaskan Twilight was also a great read and reminded me to always carry bear spray if I ever go there. 😉

Currently Exercising:

IMG_8011

I did not exercise much this week because I had a sinus infection and a wicked sore throat that will not go away. I did however want to mention how much I love my new running shoes. They are Brooks and I have never felt more comfortable and supported in a sneaker.

I saw this article the other day entitled, 10 Nutritional Deficiencies that may cause Depression. I thought it was interesting to examine the importance nutrition has on depression, however; they pretty much named a bunch of nutrients that a lot of Americans are most likely deficient on. I think nutrition should be considered when struggling with depression (it’s very important!) but I don’t think depression medication should be discounted because your selenium is low and clearly causing your all depression…

IMG_8013

We celebrated a friends birthday in the “big city” this weekend but before we left, I grabbed a carmel iced coffee and worked on homework for a little while. My major does not require a lot of tests but consists of more projects and papers, so therefore I am able to do a lot of my work at coffee shops because I don’t have to be as strictly focused (as opposed to studying for a test where I need quite solitude).

The countdown to spring break is now at three weeks. I cannot wait to be somewhere warm and far, far away from dorms and cafeteria food.

Make this week a good one!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

